A sneaky lunchtime 5K

I had a real “itch” to run yesterday. Despite the fact I had run with club on Monday night and I am supposed to be managing my shins, the temptation to pop out got a cheeky 5K at lunch time was too strong. I have a 5 mile race on Easter Sunday and as I am hoping for sub 8:30 miles I thought I would try and get out of my comfort zone and try and up the pace over 5K to see if I could maintain it. I usually don’t feel the love for any sort of speed work as I don’t think I have any, but I keep reading that this is a good way to maintain the pace later on in a longer race, so I better get to like it.


I really paid for that first mile later on, but was really pleased to get a sub 8 minute mile (which doesn’t happen too often). I kind of wish I had managed to push a little bit harder in that final mile as when I finished and checked the Garmin I was only 2 seconds outside of a 5K PB. A sub 25 minute 5K looks like it might be within touching distance.

Leave a Reply

