2016 in review

How can I possibly summarise what has happened with my running this year? I guess the only way I could describe is to say that you had told me 12 months ago that I would be where I am now, I would have called you a liar. I started 2016 an injured wreck, suffering from shin splints after every run and ready to throw in the towel. I couldn’t see how I was ever going to be in a situation to achieve what I have this year, let alone be looking how to make even more progress in 2017. I finished 2016 having run 560 miles. Given that back in January I struggled to get over 25 miles in, I’m really chuffed with where I managed to finish.

I spent a lot of time over the winter in the gym working on strengthening my legs and core and also working a lot on my technique to avoid heel strike where possible and put more of the impact through my quads and core rather than through the lower legs. It has been a challenge but it has been 100% worth it. I can’t actually remember last time I had really bad pain from shin splints, which is something I never thought I would say.

As I head into 2017, I have a few races planned, but not loads. I am contemplating a marathon but I’m not sure I’m ready for that, either mentally or physically but it is a goal for the future. I was given a book about a training method called the 80/20 technique for Christmas, whereby 80% of runs are completed at low intensity and 20% are done at high intensity. This is something I want to try and have a go at this year in order to try and give my training some structure. Although I have had done great results this year, I have been shooting in the dark with the training and having only read a few chapters I already recognise some of the over training mistakes I may be making and the constant training at moderate to high intensity. I’ve done a few practice runs under this technique and slowing down has been tough as it goes against everything you are conditioned to do. The details of a few of these runs are below and I know I will heed to slow even further to make this work.

Today’s run was on the island of Anglesey where we are celebrating New Year. Although the pace was slow, the scenery was much better than my usual routes 😀
Whatever your achievements have been in 2016, I congratulate you. If you’ve suffered setbacks you will overcome them in 2017. Happy New Year


Leave a Reply

